ClassPass, Fitness, and Data = The Perfect Storm

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.42.56 AM

It is rare that I advocate so strongly for a brand (other than SkillBridge of course), but ClassPass is truly amazing for the urbanites out there: For $99 a month, you get to take 3 classes at any of dozens of fitness studios in New York City. Typically, these classes cost $25-$40 each, so if you go 4 times in a month, you’re already saving yourself quite a bit of money. From yoga to cycling to bootcamps, there’s something for everyone on ClassPass.

As a man, I had some reservations about joining, thinking it would be all women in the classes. However, this isn’t the case at all.

Some things that I like about ClassPass: Easy reservation system, synching classes with Google Calendar so I don’t forget about them, and solid descriptions of classes. It’s also very easy to cancel classes, so long as it’s more than 24 hours before they begin.

I love that so many ClassPass classes, such as the ones at FlyWheel or Swerve, take a data driven approach. I’ve hit 300+ as my “Power Score” at all of my Flywheel classes this month and next month I”m pushing for 325.

Another bonus: I’ve discovered great gyms, teachers, classes in and around my neighborhood that I didn’t know about! Hat tip goes out to my friend and fellow entrepreneur Anastasia Lang of Hatch for first telling me about ClassPass and saying how awesome it was.

Leave a Reply

